Before I delete an EBS volume, what can I do if I want to recreate the volume later?
Create a copy of the EBS volume (not a snapshot)
Store a snapshot of the volume
Download the content to an EC2 instance
Back up the data in to a physical disk
After you no longer need an Amazon EBS volume, you can delete it. After deletion, its data is
gone and the volume can’t be attached to any instance. However, before deletion, you can
store a snapshot of the volume, which you can use to re-create the volume later.